Diversify: Building an efficient portfolio with asset allocation

 


Asset allocation is considered an important step in building an investment portfolio. But what is asset allocation? In its simplest term, asset allocation is the practice of dividing your assets among different categories such as bond and equity. As different investments involve different risks and may perform differently under the same market condition, allocating assets to investments with low correlation can provide a better risk diversification and improve the portfolio efficiency.

 

The "correlation coefficient" is the parameter in determining the correlation of different investments. Correlation coefficient is a number between -1 and 1. -1 (negative correlations) means inverse relationships where investments tend to go up and down in opposition, 0 means no relationship, 1 (positive correlations) means direct relationships where investments tend to go up and down together. Bonds is considered an important part of an efficient investment portfolio as its correlation is low with equities.

 

An optimal investment portfolio should contain two elements: excess return under a defined risk level, less volatility under a defined return. Every dot in the chart below stands for different sharing of bonds and equities in the portfolio (every 5% equals to 1 unit). Under the identical risk level, 25% equities in the portfolio got an excess return than 100% of bonds.

 

efficient_en

Just allocate your investment portfolio with different asset classes can get excess return with lower risk. So, say goodbye with the "high risk, high return" portfolio.

 

The above information is for reference only and will not be considered as professional opinion and suggestion, and do not contain any intention or inducement to form a contract. Therefore, no investment decision should be made upon the above information. Investment involves risks. Please read corresponding investment information carefully before making any investment decision. If you have any query regarding investment or investment-linked products, please contact your consultant or refer to corresponding Principal Brochure for further information.

分散投資︰建構高效益投資組合

 


資產分配向被視為建立投資組合的重要一環。但甚麼是資產分配呢?簡括而言,將資金投放在不同的投資項目,如債券及股票,便是資產分配過程。由於不同的投資項目可涉及不同的風險,並其表現走勢在同一市況下或可有不同表現,加入相關性低的投資可助分散風險,以發揮更佳投資效益。

 

量度相關性的數字稱為相關系數,由-1至1不等,接近-1代表兩項投資的走勢相反,接近0代表兩項投資的走勢無甚關連,接近1則代表兩向投資的走勢傾向一致。我們經常說,在投資組合中加入債券能分散風險就是債券與股票的相關性低所致。

 

一個理想的投資組合可從兩個角度看,一是在既定的風險下提升投資回報,二是在固定的回報要求下減低投資組合波幅。下圖是債券與股票組合的效率邊界曲線,每一點代表債券與股票的不同比例(以5%為一個單位),我們發現投資組合中有25%股票比重較100%投資債券的風險(以年波幅衡量)更低,但回報卻大大提升。

 

efficient_zh

一般人認為高回報與高風險劃上等號,但原來善用資產配置,增加回報同時降低風險亦非癡人說夢!

 

以上資料只供參考,並不會被考慮為專業意見、建議、邀約或游說,因此不應據之作出決定。投資涉及風險,請於投資前詳閱有關之投資文件。如對投資理財或投資相連壽險產品有任何疑問,請聯絡您的顧問,或參閱有關主要銷售刊物。