HKD500 premium discount for new customer who submits an online appointment in Hong Kong.

Select your language
For more inquiries
Cancel

Regulatory disclosures

About CRS, IA Levy, Historical General Crediting Interest Rate for Universal Life, and GL16 introductory video

Historical General Crediting Interest Rate

Common Reporting Standard

The Common Reporting Standard (CRS) was developed by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) and endorsed by the G20 Finance Ministers as the international standard for the automatic exchange of financial account information to enhance tax transparency and improve tax compliance.

The relevant legislation in Hong Kong came into effect in June 2016. Effective 1 January 2017, all financial institutions, including Prudential Hong Kong Limited, are required to perform due diligence on all customers, relevant account holders will have to provide self-certifications on their tax residency status.

If you would like to know more about your tax residency and CRS, you are advised to visit the IRD and OECD websites or contact your tax advisor.

What is the CRS?

The Common Reporting Standard (CRS), is an international standard developed by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), designed to enhance tax transparency and improve tax compliance through a global automatic exchange of financial information between CRS-participating jurisdictions.

 What is AEOI?

The Automatic Exchange of Financial Account Information (AEOI) is a new system that involves the transmission of financial account information (policy information if it is life insurance) from Hong Kong to an overseas tax jurisdiction with which Hong Kong has entered into an AEOI agreement (or known as an “AEOI partner”).

 Who will be the reportable persons?

Under CRS, all financial institutions, including Prudential Hong Kong Limited, are required to identify customers who appear to have tax residency outside of Hong Kong, and report certain policy information to the Inland Revenue Department (IRD) of Hong Kong.  IRD may then share the information with the tax authority where the customer is a tax resident.

 Who is doing this?

In Hong Kong, all financial institutions, including Prudential Hong Kong Limited, are legally required to be compliant with the CRS.

 When are you doing this?

Beginning 1 January 2017, Prudential will start to collect relevant information from account holders (for most of the cases in life insurance policy, it’s the policyholders, collateral assignee and beneficiary) for the purpose of AEOI.

What information are you asking customers to provide?

Under CRS, we will be asking you for your name, Hong Kong identity card or passport number, address, date and place of birth, jurisdiction of residence, tax identification number, controlling person type (for business insurance if proposer/policyholder is an entity with one or more controlling person(s)), place of registration/incorporation, Hong Kong Business Registration Number, and entity type (for business insurance if proposer/policyholder is an entity).

 How do I know my tax residency?

Generally, your tax residency is the jurisdiction where you are resident for tax purposes. Please contact a professional tax adviser or check the OECD website for more information on how to determine your tax residency.

What is a self-certification?

This is a formal declaration that account holder (for most of the cases in life insurance policy, it’s the policyholders, collateral assignee and beneficiary) makes in connection with his/her tax residency.  

Which countries or regions are participating in the CRS?

As at 26 July 2016, more than 100 jurisdictions over the world have committed to the implementation of AEOI, you may check the list on OECD website.

 

How do I get more information and advice?

If you would like to obtain more information on your tax residency and on CRS, you may contact your tax advisor or find out more at the IRD and OECD websites.

IA Levy

From 1 January 2018 onwards, a levy on insurance premiums for insurance policies will be payable to the Insurance Authority (IA) by policyowners under Insurance (Levy) Order and Insurance (Levy) Regulation.

Levy is a specific percentage to the premium payable with a levy cap applied per policy per policy year. The levy will be collected from policyowners through insurance companies. Details of levy can be referred to table below. For further information, please click here.

As policyowner must pay levy when premium is paid, the levy will be collected when the premium is paid and then remit to Insurance Authority as required by the law. Policyowners shall commit an offence and be liable to a pecuniary penalty not exceeding HK$5,000 for failure to pay the levy in a timely manner.

 

 
Policy inception date* and the policy anniversary date thereafter
 
 
Applicable levy rate
 
General insurance policy
 
 
Long term life policy
Cap per policy per policy Year (HK$)
  
From 1 Jan 2018 till 31 March 2019
(both dates inclusive)
 
0.040%
2,000
40
From 1 Apr 2019 till 31 March 2020
(both dates inclusive)
 
0.060%
3,000
6060
From 1 Apr 2020 till 31 March 2021
(both dates inclusive)
 
 0.085%
 4,250
 85
From 1 Apr 2021 onwards
(date inclusive)
 
 0.100%
 5,000
100
 
 *For life insurance, it is the Commencing Date in the Certificate of Life Assurance.   

 What is levy?

From 1 January 2018 onwards, a levy on insurance premiums for insurance policies will be payable to the Insurance Authority by policyowners via insurance company under Insurance (Levy) Order and Insurance (Levy) Regulation in order to support the operational cost of IA. Levy is calculated based on the levy rate on the premium payable per policy. There is a levy cap per policy per policy year.

When will the levy become effective?

New business:
Any policies with policy inception date (which is the Commencing Date in the Certificate of Life Assurance) on or after 1 Jan 2018 are subject to levy.

In force policy:
For all in force and premium paying policies, first levy is payable for the policy when it reaches its anniversary date in 2018.

When do I need to pay levy?

Levy has to be paid when the premium is paid. Policyowner must pay levy together with premium.

What will be the consequences if I do not pay levy on time?

Policyowners shall commit an offence and be liable to a pecuniary penalty not exceeding HK$5,000 for failure to pay the levy in a timely manner.

How can I know the levy amount I need to pay? Will Prudential issue levy payment notice to me separately?

Premium Notice, Premium Reminder and Overdue Notice will list out the total sum of premium and levy payable to facilitate policyowner to arrange payment. myPrudential will be enhanced to show the total payable (including premium and levy payable) to ease policyowner reference. And Policy Anniversary Statement will display the premium and levy amount separately.

If I don’t want to pay the levy through Prudential, can I pay to IA directly?

Cannot. Under Insurance (Levy) Order and Insurance (Levy) Regulation, policyowner have to pay levy to Insurance Authority via insurance company.

I have set a withdrawal limit on my autopay of insurance policy payment, what should I do for the implementation of levy?

You may request to reset the withdrawal limit with the bank, change autopay account, or change payment method for for future premium and levy.

If I pay premium via overseas credit card, do I need to pay the administration fee for levy?

Levy is subject to administrative fee if you use overseas credit card for premium and levy.

Any impact on my policy coverage and return after the implementation of levy?

Levy will not affect your insurance coverage or return.

Will my policy be terminated If I didn’t pay the levy?

Implementation of levy does not affect the continuity of insurance coverage. If you pay premium only without levy, policy will not be terminated. However, Policyowners shall commit an offence and be liable to a pecuniary penalty not exceeding HK$5,000 for failure to pay the levy in a timely manner.

Can I apply for addition of benefits / policy changes if I do not pay levy? These changes may affect the premium amount, will levy be adjusted correspondingly? And do I need to pay the levy difference to complete the application?

If the policy change request incurs a premium adjustment, the difference in premium will be subject to levy. Furthermore, the policy change request will only be completed upon settlement of all outstanding levy, if any.

Will Prudential deduct the levy from Automatic Premium Loan ("APL") in case my policy is now paying by APL? If yes, any loan interest incurred on levy part?

Prudential shall deduct levy by Automatic Premium Loan ("APL") if any renewal premium of the policy is being paid by APL and such levy shall be part of APL on which interest shall be charged in accordance with the policy provisions. However, if the cash value of the policy is insufficient to settle both premium and levy, only premium will be deducted by APL. You have to settle all levies separately.

Can I deposit a certain amount of money to my Premium Deposit Account for future levy?

No. According to the law, policyowner must pay levy when premium is paid, therefore, policyholder is not able to pay levy in advance, except that advance levy is paid together with the advance premium.

GL16 Introductory Video

新客戶在香港境內經網上約見顧問即獲500港元保費折扣優惠

查詢及了解更多
取消
客戶通知 | 客戶支援

監管披露

了解保誠的萬用壽險計劃的過往恒常派息率、共同匯報標準、保監局之徵費及指引16簡介短片

共同匯報標準

共同匯報標準(「CRS」)由經濟合作與發展組織(「經合組織」)所發展,並獲20國集團財政部長認可為自動交換財務帳戶資料的國際標準,以提高稅務透明度及改善稅務合規性。


香港的相關立法已於2016年6月生效。自2017年1月1 日起,所有財務機構(包括保誠保險有限公司)必須向所有客戶進行盡職調查,有關的帳戶持有人需就他們的稅務居住地提供自我證明。


如你希望就稅務居民身份及CRS獲取更多資訊,我們建議你瀏覽香港稅務局經合組織網站,或聯絡你的稅務顧問。

甚麼是CRS?

共同匯報標準(「CRS」)是經濟合作與發展組織(「經合組織」)所發展的國際標準,旨在通過參與稅務管轄區伙伴作出的全球性自動交換財務帳戶資料,以提高稅務透明度及提升稅務合規性。

何謂自動交換財務帳戶資料?

自動交換財務帳戶資料是一項新機制,涉及把財務帳戶資料(人壽保險而言則指保單資料)由香港傳送至與香港簽訂了自動交換財務帳戶資料協議的海外稅務管轄區(或稱為「自動交換財務帳戶資料伙伴」)。

誰是須申報對象?

根據CRS,包括保誠保險有限公司在內的所有財務機構必須辨識其稅務居民身份或不位於香港的客戶,並將相關保單資料申報至香港稅務局。而相關資料或會與客戶稅務居住地的稅務機關共享。

有何機構需要參與?

於香港,所有財務機構 (包括保誠保險有限公司) 都必須按法律遵守CRS規定。

何時開始?

保誠將於2017年1月1日起開始向賬戶持有人(於人壽保險保單而言,大部份情況為保單持有人、抵押轉讓人之受讓人及受益人) 蒐集相關資料作自動交換財務帳戶資料用途。

你會要求客戶提供甚麼資料?

根據CRS,我們會要求你提供以下資料:姓名、香港身份證或護照號碼、地址、出生日期及地點、居留司法管轄區、稅務編號 (TIN)、控權人類別 (適用於商業保險中投保人/保單持有人為擁有一個或多於一個控權人的實體)、註冊或登記地方、香港商業登記號碼及實體類別 (適用於商業保險中投保人/保單持有人為實體)。

我如何得知我的稅務居民身份?

一般而言你的稅務居民身份即是你居住/登記作稅務用途的居留司法管轄區。有關判定稅務居住地的詳情,請向專業稅務顧問或瀏覽經合組織官方網站諮詢。

甚麼是自我證明?

這是帳戶持有人(於人壽保險保單而言,大部份情況為保單持有人、抵押轉讓人之承讓人及受益人)就其稅務居民身份作出的一份正式聲明。

有何國家或地區參與CRS?

截至2016年7月26日,全球已有超過一百個稅務管轄區承諾實施自動交換財務帳戶資料。你可瀏覽經合組織網站。

我如何能獲取更多資訊及建議?

如你希望就稅務居民身份及CRS獲取更多資訊,你可聯絡你的稅務顧問,或瀏覽香港稅務局經合組織網站。

保監局之徵費

由2018年1月1日起,保險業監管局將會根據《保險業(徵費)令》及《保險業(徵費)規例》,向保單持有人收取保費徵費。

有關徵費為應付保費的特定百分比,而且每份保單每保單周年均設有徵費上限,並透過保險公司向保單持有人收取,有關徵費詳情可參閱下表。詳情請按

由於保單持有人需於繳交保費時一併繳交徵費,故會於保單持有人繳付保費時收取有關徵費並會按法列規定上繳予保險業監管局。如保單持有人未能依時繳交徵費,即屬違法,可被罰款不超過港幣五千元。

 

 
保單開立日*及期後之的保單周年日
 
適用之徵費比率
 
一般保險計劃

 

 
長期壽險計劃

 

每份保單每保單周年徵費上限(港元)

 

2018年1月1日至2019年3月31日

(包括首尾兩日)

 

0.040%

2,000

40

2019年4月1日至2020年3月31日

(包括首尾兩日)

 

0.060%

3,000

60

2020年4月1日至2021年3月31日

(包括首尾兩日)

 

0.085%

4,250

85

2021年4月1日起

(包括該日)

 

0.100%

5,000

100

*有關人壽保險, 即人壽保險證書上的首期保費日(Commencing Date)

 
 

什麼是徵費?

由2018年1月1日起,保險業監管局會根據《保險業(徵費)令》及《保險業(徵費)規例》透過保險公司向保單持有人收取保費徵費,以支持該局的營運成本。徵費以每份保單的應付保費按徵費比率計算,每份保單之每保單周年設有徵費上限。

徵費於什麼時候開始生效 ?

新生意:
所有保單開立日(Policy Inception Date),亦即為人壽保險證書上的首期保費日(Commencing Date) ,為2018年1月1日或以後的新造保單必須繳付徵費。

現有保單:
就現有生效並仍需繳付保費的保單,首期徵費會由每份保單在2018年的保單周年日(Policy Anniversary Date)起開始收取。 

我於何時需要繳交徵費?

徵費需於繳交保費時同時繳交,保單持有人必須在繳付保費時一併繳付徵費。

如我不依時繳交徵費,將會有什麼後果?

如保單持有人未能依時繳交徵費即屬違法,可被罰款不超過港幣五千元。

我從何得知需繳交的徵費金額? 保誠將會另行向我發出徵費的繳費通知嗎?

「繳費通知書」,「繳費再通知書」及「保費逾期未繳通知書」上會列明應繳保費連徵費的總金額,方便保單持有人安排付款。myPrudential上亦會新增應繳保費連徵費的總金額,方便保單持有人查閱。而保單周年通知書將分別顯示保費及徵費金額。

如我不想透過保誠繳交徵費,我可以直接向保險業監管局繳交嗎?

不可以。根據《保險業(徵費)令》及《保險業(徵費)規例》,保單持有人須透過保險公司向保險業監管局繳交徵費。

我現時以自動轉賬繳交保費並設有提取上限(WITHDRAWAL LIMIT),我該怎樣做以應付徵費之實施?

您可向銀行申請重設提取上限、更改自動轉賬戶口或更改繳費方式以應付未來之保費及徵費。

如我以海外信用卡繳交保費,我需要就徵費支付手續費嗎?

如透過海外信用卡繳交保費及徵費,您亦需就徵費支付行政費。

徵費實施後對我的保單保障及或回報會有任何影響嗎?

徵費並不會對您的保單保障及或回報有任何影響。

如我不繳交徵費,我的保單會被取消嗎?

徵費實施不會影響保單保障的生效性。如您只繳交保費而不繳交徵費,保單並不會因而被取消,惟保單持有人未能依時支付徵費即屬違法,可被罰款不超過港幣五千元。

如我不繳交徵費,我可以增加附加保障 / 申請保單更改嗎? 此類保單更改或會影響每期保費,徵費金額會相對應有所更改嗎? 我需要繳交有關徵費方能完成此申請嗎?

如申請保單更改時涉及保費調整,您必須就保費差額繳付相應徵費。另外,保單如有任何逾期未繳徵費,保單持有人亦需同時繳清,方能完成保單更改申請手續。

我的保單現以自動保費貸款扣除保費,保誠會同時扣除有關之徵費嗎? 如會,會就有關貸款收取利息嗎?

倘若保單執行自動保費貸款繳付續期保費,相應之徵費將一併以自動保費貸款處理,並按照保單條款計算利息。惟保單的現金淨值不足以扣除保費及徵費,自動保費貸款只會扣除保費部份,您須另行繳交所有徵費。

請問我是否可以預繳一個金額至我的保費儲蓄戶口以繳交將來之徵費?

不可以。根據規例,保單持有人必須於繳交保費時繳交徵費。因此,除非於預繳保費時同時預繳相應之徵費,否則保單持有人是不能只預繳徵費。

指引16簡介短片