Set Investment Goal

 


If investing is a journey, your investment goals are the destinations you hope to reach with the wealth you build over time. The first step towards worry-free financial situation is setting investment goals. A comfortable retirement is the most common investment goal, but most investors have more than one goal. The following are some examples:

 

Short-term goals Mid-term goals Long-term goals
- Travel
- Marriage
- Emergency fund
- Buy a flat
- Child education funding
- Retirement planning
- Estate and trust planning

 

Today's investor has no shortage of investment options from which to choose. When examining your investment options, you should consider the following factors:

 

Time horizon: Do you expect to use the proceeds of your investment in the short or long term?

 

Liquidity: Is there a chance you may need to convert your investment into cash for emergencies or switch quickly into other investments?

 

Income: Will you be counting on your investment to provide you with a regular source of income?

 

Capital growth: If long-term capital gain and protection from inflation are your goals, you could look for investments that offer high growth potential over 5 to 10 years.

 

Balance your investments: Some investments provide greater assurance regarding the safety of your principal investment. The ideal situation is to balance your investments so that you can participate in any gains and, at the same time, protect yourself from losses.

 

Be prepared to adjust goals
The goals you establish when you begin your investment plan are likely to change in the future. As you realise some short-term goals, there will be other new goals. When you reach different life stages with different needs, you will likely need to review your goals. It is important for you to share any major changes in the circumstances affecting your life with your financial professional. In any event, it is a good idea to review your investment goals regularly with your financial consultant.

 

The above information is for reference only and will not be considered as professional opinion and suggestion, and do not contain any intention or inducement to form a contract. Therefore, no investment decision should be made upon the above information. Investment involves risks. Please read corresponding investment information carefully before making any investment decision. If you have any query regarding investment or investment-linked products, please contact your consultant or refer to corresponding Principal Brochure for further information.

訂立投資目標

 


假如投資是一個旅程,你的投資目標就是你希望以一直以來建立的財富達到的目的地。達致無憂財政狀況的第一步,就是訂立投資目標。優悠寫意的退休生活是最多人的投資目標,惟大多數投資者都有超過一個投資目標。以下是一些例子﹕

 

短期目標 中期目標 長期目標
- 旅行
- 結婚
- 緊急現金
- 置業
- 子女教育經費
- 退休計劃
- 遺產及信託規劃

 

現今投資者完全不乏投資選擇。選擇時,應考慮以下因素﹕

 

投資期﹕ 你預期在短期內抑或在較長年期後動用投資所得的款項呢﹖

 

流動性﹕ 你會否有機會需要把投資資金轉換成現金以應急或迅速轉移至其他投資項目呢﹖

 

收入﹕ 你會依靠你的投資作為你定期的收入來源嗎﹖

 

資本增長﹕ 如果你的目標是長線的資本增長及保障資本免受通脹影響的話,你可以選擇在五至十年具高增長潛力的投資項目。

 

平衡你的投資﹕ 一些投資項目對你的主要投資的安全提供較大保障。最理想的情況是平衡你各項投資,讓你不會錯過任何獲利機會的同時,亦能保障自己免招損失。

 

為調整目標作好準備
你開始投資時訂立的目標,日後很可能會改變。當你實現了部份短線的目標後,會有其他新目標。當你踏入不同的人生階段並擁有不同的需要,你的投資目標便可能需重新檢討。重要的是當你遇上影響你生活的重大轉變時,應與你的財務顧問商量,定期檢討一下你的投資目標。

 

以上資料只供參考,並不會被考慮為專業意見、建議、邀約或游說,因此不應據之作出決定。投資涉及風險,請於投資前詳閱有關之投資文件。如對投資理財或投資相連壽險產品有任何疑問,請聯絡您的顧問,或參閱有關主要銷售刊物。