Celebrating 170 years of heritage

 

  Prudential was founded in 1848 to provide professional people with loans secured by life assurance. This market broadened during the second half of the nineteenth century with the opening of the Industrial Branch, which sold insurance policies for weekly premiums of a penny upward to the working classes through a network of agents.

The company was established as The Prudential Mutual Assurance Investment and Loan Association. This was shortened after a series of acquisitions to The Prudential Assurance Company (PAC) in 1867.

 

PAC became a limited company in 1881, following the Limited Liability Act (1880). At this time the company was owned by fewer than 100 shareholders and most of these were related to the directors. Prudential grew rapidly and by the 1900s the company insured one third of the UK population.

 

New policies for single women, family and home protection were introduced following the First World War. Prudential shares were floated on the London Stock Exchange in 1924, and a further range of products was initiated in 1929 with the establishment of group pensions.

 

During the 1950s and 1960s, Prudential focused on life cover, long-term savings products and retirement annuities. By the 1970s Prudential had established a wide range of assurance, investment and savings products.

 

Today, Prudential plc1 and its affiliated companies constitute one of the world’s leading financial services groups. It provides insurance and financial services through its subsidiaries and affiliates throughout the world. It has been in existence for 170 years and has £664 Billion2 of assets under management, serving more than 26 million2 customers worldwide. Prudential plc is listed on the stock exchanges of London (PRU.L), Hong Kong (2378.HK), Singapore (K6S.SG) and New York (PUK.N).

 

In 1964, Prudential began providing insurance products in Hong Kong. Since then, the operations have grown from strength to strength and established Prudential as a leading financial services brand, offering high quality life and general insurance products to protect over 1 million customers in Hong Kong.

 

Today, Prudential’s long-standing, deep commitment to Hong Kong continues through two locally-incorporated companies: Prudential Hong Kong Limited (PHKL) and Prudential General Insurance Hong Kong Limited (PGHK). PHKL offers a broad range of financial protection, health protection and retirement planning products, while PGHK is dedicated to delivering a wide range of general insurance and employee benefits for our customers.

 

 

To learn more about our history, please visit: http://www.prudentialhistory.co.uk/?lang=EN

 


Prudential plc is not affiliated in any manner with Prudential Financial, Inc., a company whose principal place of business is in the United States of America.

 

As at 30 June 2018.

慶祝170年的傳承

   

英國保誠於1848年成立,主要為有貸款的專業人士提供人壽保險。在十九世紀中期,英國保誠成立產業部,透過代理人網絡向工人階級銷售每周保費一分錢的保單,進一步展市場。

當時公司以Prudential Mutual Assurance Investment and Loan Association名字成立,在進行一系列收購後,於1867年改名為The Prudential Assurance Company(英國保誠公司)。

 

根據英國1880年的 "有限責任法案",英國保誠於1881年正式成為一家有限公司。當時公司由不到100名股東擁有,其中大部分都與董事有親戚關係。英國保誠發展迅速,在20世紀初期已為當時英國三分之一的人口提供保障。

 

第一次世界大戰後,英國保誠推出專為單身女士、家庭及家居保障的新產品。英國保誠於1924年在倫敦證券交易所上市,並在1929年推出了另一系列產品,以及發展集團退休金業務。

 

在50年代和60年代,英國保誠集中關注發展人壽保險,長期儲蓄產品和退休年金產品。於70年代,英國保誠已經建立了廣泛的人壽,投資和儲蓄產品。

 

今天,Prudential plc1與其聯屬公司組成世界領先的國際金融服務集團之一。Prudential plc通過其遍及全球的附屬公司及聯屬公司提供保險及金融服務。Prudential plc 創立至今已170年,管理資產達6,640億英鎊2,以及在全球擁有超過2,600萬名2保險客戶。Prudential plc分別於倫敦 (PRU.L)、香港 (2378.HK)、新加坡(K6S.SG) 及紐約 (PUK.N) 股票交易所上市。

 

英國保誠自1964年起在香港提供保險產品。在五十多年來其業務不斷擴展,時至今日,我們已建立領先的金融服務品牌,為超過一百萬名香港市民提供優質人壽及一般保險產品。

 

現時,保誠通過兩家本地註冊公司:保誠保險有限公司(保誠保險)及保誠財險有限公司(保誠財險)繼續為香港市民履行長期及堅定的服務承諾。保誠保險提供多元化的理財保障、醫療保障及退休策劃服務,而保誠財險則致力於為客戶提供全面的一般保險及僱員福利服務。

 

 

想了解更多有關保誠的歷史,請瀏覽這個互動網站http://www.prudentialhistory.co.uk/?lang=CH

 

 

1 Prudential plc與保德信金融集團(一家主要營業地點位於美國的公司)並無任何聯屬關係。

 

2 截至二零一八年六月三十日。